Gor Mahia Photo Gallery for the 1980s


Ben Oloo was dubbed "breakdance" because of how his dribbling skills made defenders dance

Charles Otieno was dubbed "Engine" because he powered the team with his box to box runs

Peter Dawo and Anthony Ndolo take on AFC keeper Kennedy Maitsi in 1987 as George Sunguti looks on

George Onyango was dubbed "Fundi" because he architected Gor Mahia's moves

Hezborn Omollo scored 20 plus goals in the seasons between 1983 and 1985

Ignatius Khaduli and Austin Oduor take on Shoto Lukoye of AFC. Khaduli possed a powerful shot and good shooting technique that saw him score many long range goals.

George Otieno "Vigo" tussles with Aggrey Litali of Kakamega Motcom in this 1983 league match

Abbas Magongo, Austin Oduor and keeper Tirus Omondi defend the Gor Mahia goal in 1988

Abbas Magongo "Zamalek" was a supremely gifted midfielder with vision and an ability to control proceedings. Considered by many the best midfielder to play for Kogalo

Peter Otieno Bassanga defends against Wilberforce Mulamba of AFC

Austin Oduor holding aloft the Cup winners cup in  December 1987

Gideon Hamisi tussles with John Arieno and Josphat Murila of AFC in the CECAFA cup final of 1984. AFC won 2-1

Legendary Gor Mahia chairmen of the 1980s: Zack Mbori and Job Omino

Peter Otieno Bassnga holding aloft the league cup after the 1983 season. Behind him in the dark suit is Minister Kenneth Matiba

Gor Mahia players upon receiving new pairs of boots from former chairman David Opar
From Left: Coach Len Julians, talking to Julians is Hezborn Omollo. The three suits are David Opar, Zack Mbori(Chairman) and Amos Nandi(Team Manager). Between tghe suits are William Obwaka, Austin Oduor (crouching) and Keeper Tirus Omondi(sitting). Behind Amos Nandi is keeper David Ochieng (laughing)

Club Elections in the Mid 1980s. In the foreground is Chairman Zack Mbori who won in a landslide.

Gor Mahia arrive at the airport after having won the 1985 CECAFA cup
From left: David Ochieng(in shades), Swaleh Ochieng,, Austin Oduor. Holding the cup is Hezborn Omollo and looking down is Tirus Omondi

Rival Chairmen Zack Mbori of Gor Mahia and Alfred Sambu shake hands prior to the 1986 derby match

Gor Mahia pictured at Statehouse after they won the 1985 CECAFA cup